Author Topic: MSCam Frame Retrieve Error  (Read 3467 times)

Stephanie Staszko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
MSCam Frame Retrieve Error
« on: September 19, 2017, 09:31:25 PM »
Hello!

We are having a problem with our system. All 3 leds on the data acquisition box light up when plugged in and the red CMOS light and LED also light up when the scopes are plugged in, however we get the MSCam frame retrieve error across 3 different scopes and multiple DAQ boards (one of which is brand new). The boards show up as MINISCOPE consistently in the computer "devices" window. We have tried multiple computers (Macbook air running windows 10 via bootcamp and a Dell desktop, both of which have worked previously) multiple USB connectors, two from digikey and two from external hard drives. We have tried disconnecting the scope with the DAQ connected, then reconnecting the DAQ with the scope connected first.

The scopes and DAQ have been working perfectly until today. It also seems like there is a great deal of lag in initiating the scope - when we plug it in there is lag for the computer to recognize it, and in the software once we click "connect" there seems to be a lag in connecting -> led power update -> mscam frame grab error.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
« Last Edit: September 19, 2017, 09:37:58 PM by sstaszko »

Stephanie Staszko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: MSCam Frame Retrieve Error
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2017, 10:14:37 PM »
It appears to be due to a physical connection of the USB cable with the DAQ USB connector. We are going to test out some different USB cables.

Daniel Aharoni

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: MSCam Frame Retrieve Error
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2017, 05:06:13 PM »
Hi sstaszko,
Please update this thread with your progress. We have found that some cheap USB3 cables perform poorly with the Miniscope system. Generally aim for higher quality cables that are no more than 5 feet in length.

Stephanie Staszko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: MSCam Frame Retrieve Error
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2017, 02:39:57 PM »
Hi Daniel,

The new USB cable solved the issue for our new PCB, but our old PCB still isn't connecting. I'm thinking the possibilities are either that the USB port was damaged due to a really stiff USB cable we were using previously, or the board was damaged by a shorted coax cable. I tested the coax cables for shorts, but this is the only other possibility I can think of. Any tips for how to distinguish if the board was damaged? I am posting a picture of the non functioning board below. Thanks again!

Stephanie

Stephanie Staszko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: MSCam Frame Retrieve Error
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2017, 02:51:13 PM »
PCB Image